Shared drive on mac os x

Open the file manager, right-click a folder you want to share, and select Properties.

How do I map a network drive in Mac OS X? | Answer | NETGEAR Support

Click the Local Network Share tab and enable sharing for that folder. Configure your sharing settings after installing the Samba software — be sure to click the Create Share button to start sharing the folder. To connect directly to a computer, select the Connect to Server option in Nautilus instead and enter the path to the remote computer like so: However you connect, you may need to authenticate with a user account name and password that has access to the files on the remote machine.

This depends on whether you enabled guest access and how you set up your folder sharing permissions. Image Credit: Yutaka Tsutano on Flickr. The Best Tech Newsletter Anywhere. Join , subscribers and get a daily digest of news, comics, trivia, reviews, and more. Windows Mac iPhone Android. Smarthome Office Security Linux.

Map a network drive on Mac (OSX)

News Features Reviews. The Best Tech Newsletter Anywhere Join , subscribers and get a daily digest of news, geek trivia, and our feature articles.

Skip to content. For each account, I have already placed an alias of that course account's folder — the one that resides within the Shared Folder — onto my Finder Window sidebar as well as one sitting on the desktop in the lower-right quadrant. These aliases allow me to quickly drill-down into the Shared Folder.


  • macfuse for mac os x 10.8.
  • How To: Connect To A Network Shared Folder With Mac OS X | Information Technology Services;
  • Map a Network Drive on a Mac?
  • animated wallpapers for mac free download!
  • windows phone 8 connector for mac free download.
  • web design for mac os x?

This is all pretty simple; not to mention a huge time saver. You might be wondering why I bother using separate accounts for each course when I could just as well do everything from one account. I have a few reasons for managing my course materials this way.

How to connect with File Sharing on your Mac

Foremost in my mind is that I don't want the students to see my messy desktop! It's all about, "do as I say, not as I do. Additionally, by using a separate account during my lectures, I won't see and hear the various beeps and bops from text messages, email, tweets and other notifications that pop-up to distract the audience.

Sharing Files

I also like to modify the desktop background in order to personalize it for the specific classes Finally, by using separate course accounts, I am free to modify system settings or whatever I need in order to facilitate my instruction without impacting any settings and preferences back in my main working account. At the end of the semester, I simply delete the course accounts with a couple of clicks. I'm not concerned about any files as I don't create any content that needs to be kept during the course.

I still have my original course files in my Dropbox folder back in my working account. And now: Permissions — also referred to as Privileges — are part of the underlying UNIX system that, among other things, determine which user account owns which files and folders, what that user is permitted to do to the files, as well as what permissions other accounts have regarding their use of your files and folders.

From the Finder, select Go in the Menu bar.

A discussion of OS X file permissions can get quite geeky — and therefore, rather involved. Fortunately, Apple gives us a simple interface for managing some permissions settings.


  • paragon ntfs mac os x 10.7.
  • lg dvd driver for mac.
  • page up mac keyboard shortcut;

I am going to keep this basic because there are many combinations of permissions settings for various scenarios. I can tell you, however, that just keeping permission settings in their default states is still quite useful. Go to your Shared Folder, take a look at the default permissions for that folder. We'll ignore the permissions for the special built-in users called "system" and "wheel" and possibly "Staff. Notice the "everyone" user group designation.

By default, every user account has full Read and Write permissions. Basically, this gives every user account the right to go into the Shared Folder and create files and folders. However, this would be contrary to the purpose of utilizing the Shared Folder. A user who doesn't intend to share his files, should store them inside his own Home Folder.

Refer to the article referenced above for more information on using the Home Folder. Incidentally, it's important to note that "everyone" includes other users on the network, if you have set your Sharing System Settings to allow this. In this case, the Shared Folder behaves like any other folder with respect to how files can be moved and copied.

Because, by default, other users are given Read Only permission for all but their own files and folders, those users are able to open and read files, and to open folders, that belong to other user accounts.

admin